The theme of the Akureyri Town Festival 2016 is PLAY – INSPECT – CREATE.
The Birthday of Akureyri is celebrated annually on the last weekend of August. The opening ceremony of the festival always takes place on Friday evening in the Botanical Garden. Other highlights are: the Ghost Hunt Evening in the old town, Science Center and events along the Artist Alley.
On Saturday night there is a Candle lighting at the church steps. Guests are encouraged to light a candle and put it on one of the many church steps as a symbol of peace for everyone, everywhere.
One of the biggest event is a sing along with Ingó, a well known Icelandic singer on the Saturday evening.
More information visit Akureyri.
The turfhouse at Glaumbær in Skagafjörður (road 75) is a part of The Skagafjörður Heritage Museum. It is a centre for conservation and research on local history and cultural heritage in the Skagafjörður district.
The old farmhouse at Glaumbær is built of turf, stones and timber. Turf houses similar to this were built all over Iceland for centuries.
Between 1879 and 1939, the farmhouse at Glaumbær remained unchanged; it was repaired and declared a conserved site in 1947, the year the last inhabitants moved out.
The Glaumbær museum ground is open 9-18 to 20th of September, entrance 1500 kr.
Visit to the museum give you a glimpse of the life of Icelanders in last century.
The Njal´s Saga tapestry in The Saga Centre in Hvolsvöllur South Iceland is a 90 m long wall-tapestry in progress, where Njal´s Saga – the most famous of the medieval Sagas of Iclelanders – is told and depicted from beginning to end in embroderied form.
The work started in February 2013 and now half of it has been sewn already. Most of the sewing is done by local women (and men) but over 6000 people from all around the world have taken part.
Every guest at the Saga Centre is welcome (for a small fee) to take a few stiches and become part-contributor to this very ambitious art-work.
More info: www.njalurefill.is
We are a proud Nation, proud of our boys they won England 2 – 1 in EM in Nice in France.
Half of the Nation is heading for Paris where our boys will play against France on Sunday, July the 2nd.
A new president Guðni Jóhannesson was elected on Saturday, om Monday he was in Nice watching the game with the proud fans.
Bessastaðir, official residence of the President of Iceland. First mention of Bessastaðir is in Íslendinga saga (The Saga of the Icelanders); the place then belonged to the famous write Snorri Sturluson.
Later it became the first royal estate in Iceland, being in the possession of the King of Norway.
Since 1941 it has been the official residence of the President of the Republic: Sveinn Björnsson lived there from 1941 to 1952, first as governor then as president from 1944), Ásgeir Ásgeirsson 1952 – 68, Kristján Eldjárn 1968 – 80, Vigdís Finnbogadóttir 1980 – 1996 and Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson from 1996.
On June the 25th Icelanders will elect a new president, nine candidates are running for the precidency.
Breiðafjörður Bay is renowned for its stunning beauty, with the perfect frame of mountains.
The most famous of these mountains is the majestic and mystical Snæfellsnes Glacier, towering at the coastal edge of the peninsula.
The southern islands of Breiðafjörður Bay are teeming with a fantastic variety of bird life.
Seatours in Stykkishólmur offer a variety of sightseeing tours on the Bay, including bird watching and day tours to the Island of Flatey.
The Secret Lagoon natural pool is located in the village of Flúðir in the Golden Circle area.
The historical surroundings have been kept natural and simple for a unique and authentic experience. The pool is surrounded by several hot springs, among them a little geysir erupting every 10 minutes or so, providing the pool with fresh warm water, maintaining a temprature of 38-40 °C throughout the year.
The Lagoon offers brand new facilities next the hot spring with showers, bar and eating area. For further information see their homepage secretlagoon.is
Place of the week this time is Laxdalshús in Akureyri. The house was built in 1795 and is the oldest house in Akureyri, the capital of the North.
Laxdalshús was primarily used as residential and commercial premises. In 1927 it became the first headquarters for the district archives and town library.
Laxdalshús became a protected building in 1978 and was reopened 1984 after extensive renovation. Since then various activities have been in the house.
Ósvör Maritime Museum is by the see on the way between Ísafjörður and Bolungarvík, by road no 6302.
Ósvör is replica of an old Icelandic fishing station, from the19th century. On display are a rowing boat, a crew hut with tools and equipment, a salt house and a drying shed.
Hallgrímskirkja Church is a Lutheran parish church in Reykjavík. At 73 metres (244 ft), it is the largest church in Iceland.
The church is named after the Icelandic poet and clergyman Hallgrímur Pétursson (1614 to 1674), author of the Passion Hymns.
The church is also used as an observation tower. An observer can take a lift up to the viewing deck and view Reykjavík and the surrounding mountains.
The statue of explorer Leif Eriksson (c. 970 – c. 1020) is in front of the church. Leifur was the first European to discover America. The statue was a gift from the United States in honor of the 1930 Alþingi Millennial Festival, commemorating the 1000th anniversary of Iceland’s parliament at Þingvellir in 930 AD.